LANG Departments‎ > ‎

Department of Translation

The Department of Translation (DoT) is one of the new departments of the College of Languages at the University of Sulaimani. The department was founded in 2014 and it has enrolled students in the same academic year. Currently, three generations of students have been accepted as following: 102 students of the 1st year, 72 students of the 2nd year and 68 students of the 3rd year; totally they are 242 students. 

In the department,there are 22 teaching staffs in total as shown below:

1.      Assist. Prof. Dr. Rebwar Zainadin Muhammad

2.      Assist. Prof. Dr.Ali Tahr Hussein 

3.      Dr.Trifa Umer Ahmed

4.      Dr. Umed Qadir Muhammad Ameen

5.      Dr.Miran Jalal Muhammad

6.      Assist. Lect. Azad Ali Muhmmed

7.      Assist. Lect. Ghareeb Salih Salih

8.      Assist. Lect. Mohammed Sabir Saleh

9.      Assist. Lect. Kawa Osman Omer

10.  Assist. Lect. Rasti Nawzad Ahmed

11.  Assist. Lect. RazFaraidoonAbdulrahman

12.  Assist. Lect. Kurdistan Mohammed Qadir 

13.  Assist. Lect. Zhala Sabah Mohammed Noori

14.  Assist. Lect. Fatima Jalal Taher

15.  Assist. Lect. Shaho Burhan Abdula 

16.  Assist. Lect. Asso Ahmed Salih

17.  Assist. Lect. Ashti Anwar Mohammed

18.  Assist. Lect. Asma Jasim Muhammad

19.  Assist. Lect. Sonya Sherzad Hassan

20.  Assist. Lect. Hawar Sdiq Saeed

21.  Assist. Lect. Narmin Omer Ahmed

22.  Assist. Lect. Papula Star Mustafa


The Mission of the DoT:

Achieving top quality of academic education in the area of translation, promoting latest knowledge, innovative and creativity and contributing to community needs.

Vision of the DoT:

To become a pioneer and a leading college in the field of translation, to introduce world’s culture’s and civilizations and to contribute to the building process of a knowledge-based society.

Objectives of DoT:

·         Developing the skills of both male and female students on the field of translation and to training them to translate all sorts of texts.

·         Respond to the market needs.

·         Encouraging research and publication in the fields of translation.

·         Participating in international conferences.

·         Providing public and private sectors with expertise and specialised translator, interpreter and consultancy and solutions.

·         Serving the community by offering translation and interpreting services.